DESY Physics Research Committee

Welcome to the Physics Research Committee (PRC)

The PRC gives advice to the DESY directorate on all matters related to the particle and astro-particle physics programmes at DESY.

At present, the particle-physics programme is focused on the analysis of the data from the HERA experiments H1, ZEUS and HERMES, on the DESY activities at the LHC experiments ATLAS and CMS (physics, detector upgrades, etc.), on the R&D for the International Linear Collider (ILC) and its detectors, on the BELLE / BELLE II, OLYMPUS and ALPS experiments, and on the activities of the theory group (phenomenology, cosmology, string theory, lattice gauge theory).
The emphasis in the field of astro-particle physics is on experimental and theoretical gamma and neutrino astro-particle physics with present or future experiments such as IceCube, CTA or others. The astro-particle physics activities are mainly located at DESY's Zeuthen site.

PRC-Chair: Philip Burrows (Oxford University)
PRC Scientific Secretary: Thomas Schoerner-Sadenius (DESY) -

Next (84th) PRC meeting (PRC884): 19/20 October 2017 at DESY Hamburg

The PRC members at the 81st PRC meeting. From left to right: Leslie Rosenberg, Christian Stegmann, Juan Fuster Verdu, Rene Ong, Lutz Koepke, Martin Beneke, Laura Covi, Phil Burrows, Rik Yoshida (PRC chair), Joachim Mnich, Thomas Schörner-Sadenius (PRC secretary), Amber Boehnlein. Not shown are the PRC members Lutz Feld and Rainer Wallny.

link to old PRC web pages